My Review of Garmin GPSMAP 62S GPS

Originally submitted at REI

The robust Garmin GPSMAP 62s offers all the features of the GPSMAP 62, plus a compass, barometric altimeter and wireless connection to other compatible Garmin units.

Ant-s or No ANTs?

By cactusmitch from Flagstaff, AZ on 5/24/2011

 

3out of 5

Describe Yourself: Advanced

Some GPS stuff I know about: DeLorem, the dongle, Magellan, WALL mart dash mount, POI factory, Google Maps, LG Ally Android phone, Garmin Forerunner 305.

ANT is one of the short range wireless protocols being introduced. I have a Chirp on order from REI for just under $20 and will need to program it before leaving it on the trail somewhere. An open source “Chirp” like thing is what I want, but until then,,, why can’t I have the sales info like specs tell me which models are ANT enabled?

Garmin does aircraft and other big money stuff and has a reputation for not really helping their rec. customers that much. Shame!

(legalese)

3 Responses to “My Review of Garmin GPSMAP 62S GPS”

  1. mitch Says:

    After much reading of fine print, I think yes, ( this model is the one,) but I missed the sale price. A version with a 5mg pix. camera is du out in a couple of months. I like that they use AA batteries. REI advertises a solar charger but the AA’s are pretty light. I called the REI on the San Carlos REI and they have them in stock… I will probably get one while there for the Stanford graduation this weekend.

  2. cactusmitch Says:

    I ended up “buying” an Oregon 550t, with the prospects of turning it back. It will program the Chirp. The pictures it takes are geo-coded and the easiest to up load to Everytrail.com that I have ever used.

  3. cactusmitch Says:

    Oregon is what I went with. Posting the pictures directly with geo coding is easy. An “improved” version of the Oregon is due out soon. This one will have a (probably family band) 2-way radio combined within in it.

Leave a Reply

